“Back to school. Back to school, to prove to Dad that I’m not a fool.”

26 Aug

ImageFor those of you who do not get that reference, it a quote from Adam Sandler’s character in the movie Billy Madison, and though I have no belief that my father things I am a fool, I am in fact going back to school!

As I have mentioned before, I will be spending the 2013-2014 academic year here in Brussels, Belgium attending Vesalius College. As stated by their website,

“Vesalius College was founded in 1987 by the Vrije Universiteit Brussel and Boston University to offer undergraduate education in English. As an American-style college, Vesalius takes a humanistic approach to intellectual inquiry, encouraging students to not only learn skills and knowledge important to their chosen careers, but to think critically and develop themselves personally and as citizens of an increasingly multicultural and globalised world.”

Orientation for the study abroad students and new degree-seeking students was last Wednesday. It wasn’t anything like our orientation is in the U.S. My orientation lasted a day, and in that day we sat in the same room and listened to person after person form the college come tell us about what we should expect in the upcoming semester (I’m the only person I’ve heard of so far who is studying abroad here for a year rather than a semester). At one point we went with our VeCo Buddies to get a tour of our campus (two floors in an office building) and the campus of Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), the Dutch college that is right next door that we have complete access to.

I then met with my academic adviser (also one of my professors) to solidify my class schedule for the semester. Below is a list of my classes, but I’ll go into them each more closely in a different post.

  • Communications 231- Rhetoric
  • Political Science 351- Military Approaches to Security
  • Political Science 132- European Peace and Security Studies
  • Political Science 235- EU’s Common Security and Defence Policy in Theory & Practice
  • Political Science 236- Understanding Contemporary Conflicts in Europe and Beyond

Image

All in all, I’m super excited to get things underway!

2 Responses to ““Back to school. Back to school, to prove to Dad that I’m not a fool.””

  1. zack August 26, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    get it guuurrrrrrl ❤

  2. Trudy Wright August 26, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

    You look happy, Amy! Study hard and enjoy this life experience to the fullest! Love and Hugs, Grams

Leave a Reply

